Summertime

Although the website photos suggested lengthy spa sessions interrupted by warm swims, harbor cruises, and delicious food, it was quite a bit more like Kellerman’s. Dinner was family-style. Accessories for horseshoes and badminton were available. Mosquitoes swarmed and scoffed at the Off. And atop a crumbling staircase perfect for watermelon-carrying… a rustic game room with ping-pong, candlepin bowling, and video games that cost only one quarter. By 10pm, no further amusements or refreshments were provided. So we went… to bed.

It was charming to be so unplugged. Having just completed school, I thought the boys would want to marinate in unscheduled time (read: iPad games). They surprised me by enjoying a nothing-to-see boat tour (boys this age don’t appreciate breathtaking, evergreen-coast-meets-blue-ocean views), taking “polar plunges” into the “sun-warmed” pool, and playing hours and hours and hours of tennis on cracked courts sprouting wildflowers. It was quiet and simple and buggy and a bit shabby and all sorts of Frisbee fun.

Waiting to embark a humble vessel for the 90-minute harbor tour, I exchanged pleasantries and sunscreen with another mom. Her three boys were attached to electronics and she waggishly wondered if those would be sufficient to assuage the torture of forced nature immersion for 90 minutes. Luckily for those kiddos, the cruise was full, and so they toted their iThings back to air-conditioned spaces. But had they boarded, I’ll bet those kids would have abandoned their virtual warring clans to spot a seal or soaring eagle. At least, I hope.

The drive up to Maine was nearly seven hours back and forth in a hot SUV. To supplement the Summer of ’69 weekend atmosphere, the AC wasn’t working; so we opened windows and stuck to the seats and complained and whined and asked how much longer 154 times. Meanwhile, pink-cheeked boys were spied napping in the rearview. A weekend in the Great Outdoors left me with a keen nostalgia for long ago citronella-scented evenings as adults ignored us while we kicked cans and caught fireflies in safe spaces. This rustic resort provided two days of that sort of fun, and reminded me to create more opportunities for my boys to collect memories and mosquito bites exactly this way.

Happy Summer, friends. Go get bitten.

The pool was an algae-studded 60 degrees, but we went in anyway.

The pool was an algae-studded 60 degrees, but we went in anyway.

 

8 responses

  1. That age is very small in our rear-view mirror!

    Sent from my iPad

    On Jun 11, 2014, at 8:51 PM, Blooms and Bubbles wrote:

    WordPress.com Britt posted: “Although the website photos suggested lengthy spa sessions interrupted by warm swims, harbor cruises, and delicious food, it was quite a bit more like Kellerman’s. Dinner was family-style. Accessories for horseshoes and badminton were available. Mosquitoe”

  2. Sometimes I forget how worthy the arguments to get my daughter away from the I-thingies and tv are. As soon as I get her outside riding her bike, swinging as high as she can or digging in the dirt with her little brother, she is the happiest. Now as far as getting bitten…good lawd we are getting eatin’ alive here this year. I went camping last weekend and I swear the bugs in my backyard could eat the bugs in the woods for breakfast!

    Sounds like this was a horrifically wonderful little vaca for you and the fam. I hope the algae washed off and the memories stick around 🙂

  3. It’s worth bothering to create those memories. Our 4 are all teenagers now and the other night my Queen and I were planning a trip to a favourite family holiday destination and within a couple of hours we had all of them AND they’re mates planning to meet us there because, nobody wants to miss out on creating more memories! Good onya. Respect REDdog

  4. That sounds very relaxing Britt. Personally I think that major attractions at resorts are over-rated. I prefer a relaxing environment – and it’s a lot more cost-effective. I was brought up on the coastline, so I enjoy going back. That resort looks familiar. I used to truck up and down the coast line of Maine (working for a company out of Calais) many years ago. The picture looks suspiciously like a resort on Hwy #1 on the coast. Is it?

    • The attractions are over-rated, indeed. There’s nothing better than an unsullied coastline for me. This spot was about 45 min north of Portland, and very proud of its remoteness.

Mixed company conversation...

